The Meanings of the Astrological Houses


Each birth chart is made up of twelve houses

… and each house represents an area of your life.

The first house begins with your Ascendant (the degree of the Zodiac sign that was rising in the East at the time of your birth).

When transits move through the houses, they activate them; impelling us towards change in one or more of the areas of life they represent:

  • First House: The Self, How you come across to others, How you meet new situations, Your Image


  • Second House: Money, How you earn your money, Personal possessions of value, Your Self Worth and Values


  • Third House: Communication, Siblings, Neighbours, Short Journeys, Self Expression, School


  • Fourth House: Home, Family, Deepest Self, LIneage


  • Fifth House: Innate Creativity Children, Inner Child, Joy, Lovers


  • Sixth House: Day-To-Day Work, Health, Daily Routines


  • Seventh House: Partnerships (intimate or business), Projection


  • Eighth House: Intimacy, Sex, Inheritances, Taxes, Shared Resources, Birth and Death, Psychic Realm, 


  • Ninth House: Long-Distance Travel, Spirituality, Your Big Picture, Personal Growth, Higher Education


  • Tenth House: Career, Ambitions, Status out in the World


  • Eleventh House: Friendships, Groups, Hopes and Wishes 


  • Twelfth House: Surrender, The Collective, Hospitals/Institutions, Patterns of Self Sabotage

21 thoughts on “The Meanings of the Astrological Houses

  1. […] To see which Area(s) of Life relate to which House, Click Here. […]

  2. […] To understand what the house associations are, click here. […]

  3. […] Look for the houses highlighted in your chart to see the area of life affected. For house meanings click here. […]

  4. […] Look for the houses highlighted in your chart to see the area of life affected. For house meanings click here. […]

  5. […] For an understanding of the meaning of the houses go here […]

  6. […] The house shows an area of life where it’s good to set a goal this Lunar Month. […]

  7. […] Wherever 16 degrees of Leo falls in your chart* is where you’ll feel impelled to greater self-expression this month. *House = Area of Life […]

  8. […] Click here for the meaning of the houses. […]

  9. […] To understand what this could mean for you, look for the houses with Taurus Virgo and Capricorn resident in them and look up the area of life that those houses relate to. […]

  10. […] The Full Moon exacts at 28 degrees of Pisces, so look for where that (and 28 degrees of Virgo) reside in your chart for the area of life likely to be affected. […]

  11. […] by Gemini in your chart and between now and June 3rd, reassess what your desires and needs are in that area of life, so you can better ask for what you […]

  12. […] Note any planets or points located between 24 and 26 degrees of the fixed signs (Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius) and the houses where 25 degrees of Taurus and Scorpio fall. That’s the life areas. […]

  13. […] Landing at 5 degrees and 38 minutes (of Leo) the New Moon brings a fresh perspective into the house (area of life) it falls in your birth chart. Click here for more on what that means. […]

  14. […] You’ll find the meanings of the chart houses here. […]

  15. […] You may have been feeling a drop in motivation in the area of life represented by those placements with your intuition letting you know “now’s not the time to push” – The Meanings of the Astrological Houses […]

  16. […] To see the area of life (related to the house Venus transits in your chart) that’s likely to b… […]

  17. […] To understand the area of your life Saturn is activating (symbolised by the house), click here. […]

  18. […] Look to where Libra, Aries, Taurus and Scorpio reside in your chart for the area of life most likely to be impacted by October’s Eclipse Energy. For an interpretation of the houses and how they apply to areas of life, click here. […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: